A- A A+

Go to Enic-Naric homepage

You need information on recognition issues as

Higher Education Institution

Credential evaluator


Individual wishing to study/work abroad

UNESCO Regions

home > Bologna Process: the European Higher Education Area
Bologna Process: the European Higher Education Area

By signing the Bologna Declaration in 1999, the ministers of 29 European countries committed to a unique process of higher education reform, at European, national and institutional level. Based on voluntary inter-governmental cooperation and involving representatives of the main stakeholders (institutions, students, teachers, employers, etc.) since 2001, the initial goal of the Bologna Process was to contribute to enhancing the competitiveness and attractiveness of higher education in Europe. Therefore, the ministers formally established the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) in 2010. This area is to be understood as an area open to students, graduates and academic staff, offering them mobility without obstacle and fair and democratic access to high quality higher education.

Members of the Bologna Process are the 49 countries, together with the European Commission, and the consultative members, namely the UNESCO, EUA, ESU, EURASHE, ENQA, Education International and BUSINESSEUROPE.

Although the Bologna Process and its structural reforms have greatly facilitated the recognition of qualifications within the EHEA, the Bologna Process still does not imply automatic recognition of qualifications between EHEA countries. 

Further information

Bologna Process – EHEA website

Bologna Process – Members

Bologna Process – Recognition