A- A A+

Go to Enic-Naric homepage

You need information on recognition issues as

Higher Education Institution

Credential evaluator


Individual wishing to study/work abroad

UNESCO Regions

home > Recognised HEIs
Recognised HEIs

A recognised higher education institution is one that operates with a formal accreditation/authorisation/recognition status given by an official authority of a specific country, having been quality assured by the recognised quality assurance system. The institution has the authority to award ‘official’ qualifications that form part of the national education system where the institution operates.


Generally, the most straightforward way to check the status of an institution is to refer to the official lists of recognised/accredited institutions in the country where the institution is based. Such lists are published by the official authority in charge of higher education (i.e. Ministries, QA Agencies, etc.) in the majority of countries in the world. 

Be aware that in some countries not only the HEI’s need to have formal accreditation/recognition status but also the study programmes. 

Further information

It is possible to find official lists of recognised/accredited higher education institutions for ENIC-NARIC countries on the Recognised Higher Education Institutions section available on each country page on the right column.

For more detailed information on recognised higher education institutions in other countries, please visit the UNESCO Regions section of the present website and/or contact directly the national authority of the country concerned.

There are very few examples of Higher Education institutions that are not formally part of any national higher education system, but they are recognised by different countries, because they are founded by international organisations. One example is the European University Institute (EUI), that is a Higher Education Institution created by the Member States of the EU and based in Florence, Italy.

See also:

List of Universities of the World provided by the International Association of Universities (IAU)

Quality assurance: accredited programmes section